The 33rd goal setters award breakfast at the Pipitea Marae this week was a red letter day for our Rotary Club, and will not be easily forgotten by the 212 people who were enthralled by the four stories of the worthy recipients in 2024 - Ace Goff, Jono Petersen, Marilyn Mansilla and Tanith Wirihana Te Waitohioterangi.
The Prime Minister gave a strong address which echoed the stories of our scholarship winners and he enjoyed relating to and speaking with them throughout. The extent to which he appreciated the event was shown by the fact he stayed 20 plus minutes past his planned leaving time to have photos with the scholarship winners and speak with interested breakfast goers.
As in past years, our recipients demonstrated why they were so deserving of their awards. We wish them well on their journeys and look forward to welcoming them back to the club with stories of their successes in the future.